Google

Saturday, March 6, 2010

Thistle Port Dickson Hotel Room Review


Thistle Port Dickson Hotel (formerly known as Guoman Hotels Port Dickson) is one of the newest hotels in Port Dickson.

I have read rave reviews of the place, so when my best friend invited me to join her for a free stay at the hotels whilst she attend her workshop, of course I jumped at the opportunity.
I had been to Guoman Port Dickson few years back, thus I was curious to see what's so hot about this hotel that people had been raving about.

Arrived at the hotel about 8pm after horrendous jam in KL. Driving in the main driveway with the balinese style lights in the middle of the road, gave a very exclusive and private feeling of the hotel.

The bellboy was very efficient in picking my bags from the car and delivering it to the room.
The lobby had been refurbished and look modern, spacious and airy.


Upon entering the room at Thistle Port Dickson, I notice they had repainted the walls and change the door lock system to swipe card system.  The new colours of the Thirstle PD gave a more classy look compared to the more mexican style Guoman colours.

The king-sized bed was huge and inviting.  
The floor is still as what it used to be, orange tiled floor.  
The cupboard with sliding door has sufficient storage/hanging space, and comes with prayer mat, Quran, electric mosquito mat, and extra pillows.
I would have preferred more lights in the room though as it wasn't bright enough for me to sit and work on my laptop.


The room had its own air-con and ceiling fan, but even after I had turned off the ceiling fan and air-con, the central air-con was still cold.  The management should try to increase the air-con temperature.

The room comes with a flat screen TV, but the some channels were not very clear, so I had to call the maintenance to fix it.The staff that came was very efficient, and quickly changed the cable for me and fix the problem.

Bathroom in Thistle Port Dickson is spacious, the shower stall could fit 2 person comfortably, and if the shower head is the big shower head style, things would have been perfect.


The hotel amenities look real nice.  All the shower gel, shampoo and lotion are provided in big glass bottles which unfortunately can't be taken away.
The only thing that anyone can take home from the bathroom are the travel toothbrush, shower cap and cotton bud packs.

 

 Other things I like about the room are its stationery set, TV remote basket and the Guest Directory book, which unfortunately can't be taken home


Did a quick sushi platter as a surprise for my friend's brithday...then its bedtime in this new hotel.

 For more pics of Thistle Port Dickson, visit  Hotels Port Dickson site.

Tuesday, November 17, 2009

new world hotel bintulu pictures

This is another view of deluxe room at New World Suites Hotel Bintulu.
My colleague got this room, which is in the corner of New World Hotel.

The pros for this kind of room - huge bathroom and dressing area, complete with walk in wadrobe.

The cons - wifi signal was low... thus guest can't enjoy the free wi-fi often. [actually this applies to most room, unless you open the room door.












Monday, September 22, 2008

Hyatt Kuantan Pictures

I stayed at Hyatt Kuantan in August for few nights.
My room was in a separate wing, and we got upgraded to a deluxe room.
The bathroom was huge, with separate shower and tub.

There are 2 swimming pools, 1 near the main lobby and another bigger pool a few meters away.







Hyatt Kuantan is a nice hotel..yet the service needs improvement. My laundry was not collected even though i left it at the entrance of the room.

Friday, July 4, 2008

Prince Court Medical Center



Prince Court Medical Centre (PCMC) Kuala Lumpur had its soft opening in June 2007 .
It recently opened its facilities to the public on 1st July 2008.

Prince Court Medical Centre (PCMC) is a 300 bed Specialist Hospital with 5 designated Centre of Excellence and is affiliated with the Medical University of Vienna (MUV).

This hospital is touted to be the 7* standard, and was developed partly for the medical tourism industry in Malaysia. Therefore, whoever checks in here for treatment should expect to be treated like in 5 star hotels.

The treatments offered here are:


  • Outpatient specialist

  • Obstetrician & Gynaecologist

  • 24-Hour Emergency & Primary Care services

  • 10 fully equipped operating theatres

  • Diagnostic & Catheterisation Laboratory

  • Clinical Laboratory (including Blood Bank)

  • Physiotherapy & Rehabilitation Services

  • Day-care Surgery

  • Intensive Care / Coronary Care / Neonatal Intensive Care / Burns Unit

  • Radiology & Nuclear Medicine services


Saturday, June 21, 2008

Food at New World Suites Hotel Bintulu

Since being here past few weeks...I kinda got tired of driving around for food..
So some nights my colleague and I just decide to eat in the hotel..

As usual..I take the chance to treat myself to room service luxury..


Overall..I say that the food here is value for money..considering the serving size is huge and really filling. I've had others, but too hungry when they arrive, so forgot to take their pictures..perhaps I'll add more pics the next time I order room service.




Fish & Chips (RM19)
- the first item I ordered from Room Service during my first time visit to New World in May..at that time the chips were real thick chips..but during this visit in June..they have changed it to french fries..which was quite dissapointing.









Garlic Bread (RM6.50 for 4 pieces)
- this is thick, crispy and yummy.
There's real garlic..not just instant kind of garlic butter.
Had it twice already in my stay at New World in May & June













Spaghetti Bolognaise (RM18)
- huge serving.. ;) really value for money..
lotsa beef, more than the vege in it..

Saturday, June 14, 2008

Another stay at New World Suites Hotel, Bintulu

After my last visit to New World Suites Hotel in May 2008, I had another round of business trip here in June 2008.




This time around I was placed in a different room with a walk-in-wardrobe.








However, the room felt rather stuffy and small, coz there is a divider separating the wadrobe & entrance area from the bed & study table area.











The toilet was also rather cramp. There was no place in the shower stall to put the shampoo/soap/shower gel bottles, so I had to put them on the floor...which was really annoying.










The room layout was cozy though due to the smaller space.










And I could easily see the TV from the work table.










However, by the 3rd day, I requested to change back to the normal deluxe room at New World, similar to the one I stayed in my first visit there.
It was amazing stepping in to the new room and feeling so open and free...the normal room obviously feels more spacious.

Thursday, June 5, 2008

New World Suites Hotel, Bintulu

Hotel name: New World Suites Hotel
Location: Above Parkcity Shopping Mall, Bintulu
Address: Park City C0mmercial Square, No 3971, Jln Tun Ahmad Zaidi, Bintulu, Sawarak
Hotel Phone No: 086 331122
Price range: RM180 - RM600 per night
Star Rating: 4****
Facilities: Business Center


New World Suites Hotel in Bintulu is a newly opened hotel with 175 rooms & suites.
It started operations early 2008.

I stayed here in May 2008 for almost 2 weeks. Had an excellent time at the hotel.
The room's modern & chic furnishing, comfy bed, free wi-fi, flat screen LCD TV, rainfall style shower and full length mirrors... just makes me don't want to leave the hotel room.




Each room is provided with iron & ironing board, as well as kettle & tea-coffee making facilities.

The buffet breakfast had plenty of choices, with its fruit & salad counter, egg counter, hot food, noodles & bread counter.
However, the coffee house's furnishing does not match with the hotel's concept.
The Paddy's Coffee House was intended to be "fine-dining" but with its bulky red chairs makes the whole restaurant seems even more cramped.





There are no swimming pool and the gym is in the plans but not yet constructed at the time of my visit.

However, due to its location above the shopping malls and in the shops area, its very convenient to walk downstairs to buy food. There is even a supermarket in the mall for those needing some snacks or instant noodles.

Do visit my personal blog for more pictures here